BBQ Pulled Pork

It's december, which means it's officially winter. In winter, you don't grill as much as you do in the summer, mostly because it's just too cold. I love grilled food, love when the meat is a bit burnt and the smokey flavour. Now what if I told you that you can give a smokey flavour to the meat you cook in your oven? I know, wow and hallelulja. I've known about liquid smoke for some time now but never actually tested it - silly little me, I tried it for the first time when cooking this dish and it damn well won't be the last time!
 
I've made many pulled pork over time, I've always made them Mexican style, you know, with cumin, garlic, bell pepper, lime, chili/cayenne and so forth, but never made BBQ Pulled pork. The other weekend we went to my in-laws to celebrate my partners' little brothers' birthday, and there they served BBQ Pulled Pork. Since then my fingers have been itching to make my own pulled pork and sink my teeth in it again. The pork I bought was a big piece, a little too much for just the two of us so we invited the family over for dinner. Sharing is caring people. The dish was a big hit, not a single bite was left (which kinda sucked since I was hoping for leftovers for myself the next day, hehe), but they were full and happy so I was happy. I did as my in-laws did, served the pork with tortilla bread and some sauces and sides. I served with bell peppers, onions, sallad, sour cream, salsa, nachos and made my guacamole (click HERE for my recipe).
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Ingredients:
  • 1,4 kg pork shoulder
  • 7 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 tbsp salt
  • 1 tbsp pepper
  • 2 tsp cumin
  • 1 tbsp paprika
  • 2 onions, roughly diced
  • 2 ½ tbsp liquid smoke (Hickory smoke)
  • 1 bottle of Hickory BBQ sauce
  • Plastic wrap
How to:
  1. Mix the salt, pepper, cumin and paprika together in a small bowl and set aside. 
  2. Rub the pork with all the garlic. Then rub the spice mix on the pork and make sure you get the garlic and spice mix on the entire piece.
  3. Wrap in a plastic wrap and put into the fridge for at least 4 hours - but overnight would be best.
  4. When you're ready to cook, preheat the oven to 170°. Chop the onions and place in a oven proof form, put the pork shoulder on top of the onions and fill half the form with water and add the liquid smoke to the water. Cook for about 5-6 hours, or until you can pull the meat apart with a spoon.
  5. Right before serving, pull apart the meat and pour in the bbq. Start by adding just enough to coat all the meat, and then add more if you want more bbq flavour. You can always add, but never take away when it comes to cooking. Serve immediately.



Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

kitchenlife.blogg.se

A BLOG ABOUT HOW TO MAKE YOUR TASTEBUDS HAPPY

RSS 2.0